Programming issues

andycruce

I am new to C# and can't get any of the examples to work.  I have copied both the simple access example and the Quaternion Call Back example.  Neither of these work for what appears to be different issues.

The simple Quaternion access example generates a NotSupportedException when I execute imu.GetQuaternion(out w, out x, out y, out z)  All the code is copied from the TinkerForge example, there are no compile errors.  The ipcon is properly initialized and the imu object is properly initialized with the proper UID. I've check the IMU UID on using the BrickView app.

I also tried the Quaternion Call Back example.  This program also complies and shows no errors during execution.  However, it appears the QuaternionCB function is never executed.  A breakpoint there is never reached and there nothing is printed.  The program gets to the Console.ReadLine statement and will exit if a return is entered.

In both cases I am using System and Using Tinkerforge.  I got the Tinkerforge dll from NuGet.  Programs are being run under VS2015 as a console application.

Any Suggestions?

Here is the code for the GetQuaternion function which returns the error:

using System;

using System.Collections.Generic;

using System.Linq;

using System.Text;

using System.Threading.Tasks;

using Tinkerforge;

namespace TinkerForge_Test

{

class Program

{

private static string HOST = "localhost";

private static int PORT = 4223;

private static string UID = "XXYYZZ"; // Change XXYYZZ to the UID of your IMU Brick 2.0

static void Main(string[] args)

{

IPConnection ipcon = new IPConnection(); // Create IP connection

BrickIMUV2 imu = new BrickIMUV2("62feo2", ipcon); // Create device object

ipcon.Connect(HOST, PORT); // Connect to brickd

// Don't use device before ipcon is connected

// Get current quaternion

short w, x, y, z;

//            z = (short) 5.0;

imu.GetQuaternion(out w, out x, out y, out z);