MQTT on pi problems

Pat28

Hi Everyone.

I am new to TF MQTT binding and i have got some problems.

Her is what i did:

My hardware setup:

·         * Raspberry pi 2B with Buster os with latest updates and upgrades

·         * Network connection with fixed IP 192.168.10.21 from PI to switch

·       *   Tinkerforge master brick with USB cable to PI and my air quality bricklet connected

·         * Synology DSM7.1 (IP 192.168.10.5) with mosquitto package installed used as MQTT broker and Openhab 3.3 software

Install brick viewer on pi :

sudo apt install brickv

See bricklet UID via brickv software on PI: can see that it is working without problems

Install mqtt api binding on raspberry pi:

sudo apt install tinkerforge-mqtt

Copy the tinkerforge-mqtt fle to the /usr/local/bin folder on pi

Create a init-file in the same /usr/local/bin folder to put the mqtt commands

For example tf_mqtt.txt file with MQTT commands for air quality bricklet found in the Tinkerforge MQTT documentation examples webpage:

https://www.tinkerforge.com/en/doc/Software/Bricklets/AirQuality_Bricklet_MQTT.html#air-quality-bricklet-mqtt-examples

My content tf_mqtt.txt file:

subscribe to tinkerforge/callback/air_quality_bricklet/XYZ/all_values

publish '{"register": true}' to tinkerforge/register/air_quality_bricklet/XYZ/all_values

publish '{"period": 1000, "value_has_to_change": false}' to tinkerforge/request/air_quality_bricklet/X3s/set_all_values_callback_configuration

replace XYZ with your air quality bricklet UID value from the brick viewer.

In Pi terminal run :

python3 /usr/local/bin/tinkerforge_mqtt --broker-host 192.168.10.5 --init-file /usr/local/bin/tf_mqtt.txt

Where the broker host is the IP of my Synology MQTT broker on same network.

and i receive this error message:

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ python3 /usr/local/bin/tinkerforge_mqtt --broker-host 192.168.10.5 --init-file /usr/local/bin/tf_mqtt.txt
Could not read init file: Expecting value: line 1 column 1 (char 0)